In Hinduism, the Tantras ("looms" or "weavings") are sectarian scriptures dealing with certain aspects of a god and rules for discipline for the worshipper. Tantras are scriptures dedicated to each of the three major theological traditions of Hindu dharma: Vaishnavism, Shavism, Shaktism (Divine Mother). Each denomination adores its god as the Ultimate Reality.

Tantras are associated with "medieval India," having been written between 500 and 1800. Each Tantra has four parts:

  • Philosophical and spiritual truths
  • Yoga and mental discipline
  • Rules for constructing temples and carving statues of deities
  • Rules on religious rituals and festivals
  • Comments
Loading comments...