Four Noble Truths


In his first sermon after attaining enlightenment, the Buddha taught the Four Noble Truths which form the foundation of belief for all branches of Buddhism:

  1. All of life is marked by suffering.
  2. Suffering is caused by desire and attachment.
  3. Suffering can be stopped.
  4. The way to end suffering is to follow the Noble Eightfold Path.


  • Boeree, C. George. “The Basics of Buddhist Wisdom.” An Introduction to Buddhism. . Web. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
  • Lopez, Donald S.. “Four Noble Truths.” Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. 6 Jul. 2011. Web. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
  • Comments
Loading comments...