Five Precepts


The Five Precepts (Sanskrit, sila) are obligations that both Buddhist monks and laypersons undertake. They are as follows:

  1. Do not harm any living being.
  2. Do not take anything not given.
  3. Do not engage in sexual misconduct.
  4. Do not speak falsely.
  5. Do not lose control through intoxication.
  • Comments
Loading comments...