In both Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism, buddhas are those who have attained full enlightenment. Siddharta Guatama became "the Buddha" after his Enlightenment under the Bodhi Tree.

Theravada Buddhism recognizes only Gautama and the past Buddhas, but in Mahayana Buddhism, everyone has the potential to become a buddha; i.e., an "enlightened one." (Compare Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism)

Mahayana Buddhism thus includes belief in numerous "celestial Buddhas" who have attained enlightenment and now dwell in the heavens or the various Paradises.

Because of their enlightened state, Buddhas are generally believed to be unapproachable, but there are still perceived benefits to venerating or meditating on them and their accomplishments.

Celestial Buddhas,especially the Five Dhyani Buddhas, play a major role in the Tibetan and Tantric forms of Buddhism.


Amida Buddha

Amida Buddha is one of the Five Wisdom Buddhas. "Amida" is the Japanese form of the Sanskrit "Amita," meaning "Immeasurable One...

Laughing Buddha

## Laughing Buddha In Buddhism, the celestial Buddha named Hotei or Pu-Tai is best known as the jolly Laughing Buddha. In China, he is known as the Loving or Friendly One...

Life of the Buddha

The details of the Buddha's life are not known for certain, but most scholars are in agreement that he was an actual historical figure who lived in northern India around the 5th century BCE...

Buddha Books

Medicine Buddha

In Buddhism, Medicine Buddha is the common nickname of Bhaisajyaguru, also known as the Master of Healing or the Buddha of healing. Bhaisajyaguru is described in the Bhaisajyagurus Sutra as a bodhisattva who made and fulfilled 12 vows, two of which were related to healing...

  • Comments
Loading comments...